While labour has its issues, and they can not be entirely blamed on the media. Media bias has had an effect on perception of Corbyn. This has been repeatedly​ and independently be shown by numerous studies. This effect was exemplified on Question Time. As accusations of terrorist sympathiser and pro-IRA were levelled at Corbyn by the public. Despite all the evidence to the contrary, which hasn’t be widely reported in the media. To not recognise the inherent nature of bias is ignorance at a sublime level. It is written into our personalities by all the things that make us who we are. There has to be a conscious decision to recognise our own biases, to evaluate what we believe and be open to the opposite view without prejudice. Unfortunately, this is easier to say than do, but understanding the need is the first step. Now, I am quite overtly partisan in my politics currently. However, my politics are driven by an overarching view of as information I can process. Something I have always done is see the other side of the argument. Much to the despair of my friends. I only post my conclusions, not my working out. Or my history of how I learnt to do this. It doesn’t mean I get it right all the time, but it does mean I haven’t blindly followed one narrative. What is more, my process involves being challenged. Opening new ideas is how discussions evolve and we learn. I often leave conversations when I have challenged, not angry. But with self doubt. The answer to this self doubt is research. Go and look up the opposite view, fact check my own views. This way my views evolve and change. However, because of this process I am confident in my understanding. I do not shout down people. I invariably try to avoid insulting people, although I am human and as equally passionate as the next person. I do not value booing of opposing views or journalists asking questions. Even if it is the tenth time the question has be asked and answered (Tim Farron, I feel for you). I certainly do not hide behind hate speech and accuse my challengers of racism, bigotry or just general inflammatory language. So, next time you find yourself disagreeing with someone, consider the bias. Consider how their views have been influenced by the sources they have access to. Don’t immediately resort to accusations of hate.

via Facebook

Leave a Reply

